Monday 13 July, 2020

20 schools to remain closed on first day of school year

Twenty schools will remain shut when the new school term begins on Monday, September 9.

On Wednesday, September 4, the Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw and education officials along with union representatives toured many plants and concluded that four primary schools were not up to standard.

Related Article

However, today, Saturday, September 7, the Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training has advised that a number of schools will have a delayed opening following construction and rehabilitative works, which contributed to excessive dust and the repositioning of furniture and equipment.

In a release, the Ministry said that there is a need for these school plants to be industrially cleaned, materials sanitised, furniture repositioned, school meals serving areas reequipped, and teachers allowed to stage their classrooms before students can be readmitted.

Some schools will open on Wednesday, September 11. They are Alexandra School, Grantley Adams Memorial Secondary, Frederick Smith Secondary and Princess Margaret Secondary.


The following primary schools will open on Monday, September 16: Ann Hill School, Bay Primary, Belmont Primary, Eagle Hall Primary,Luther Thorne Primary, Milton Lynch Primary, St. Bartholomew Primary, St. Giles Primary School, St. John Primary, St. Margaret Primary, St.  Paul’s Primary, St. Philip Primary, St. Stephen’s Nursery, Welches Primary, Wesley Hall Junior, and Wilkie Cumberbatch Primary.

The Ministry said teaching and non-teaching staff are to report to the schools and take directions from the principal as it relates to getting the school ready for opening.

All other schools will start on Monday.


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: