Sunday 20 October, 2019

2019 BICO Champions dethroned

The National Stadium

The National Stadium

There will be a new champion in the 2019 BICO National Sports Council (NSC) Primary School Football Tournament.

Last year’s champions Grantley Prescod Memorial School were defeated by All Saints Primary School 2-0 on Thursday, June 19, at the National Stadium in the first semifinal encounter.

The northern unit was aggressive and organized, traits they have displayed consistently throughout the competition and ingredients which earned them the inaugural Concacaf Next Play Cup title last December.

The first half was contested in the midfield as neither goalkeeper was forced into any meaningful action.

All Saints’ halftime talk apparently was fueled with passion and purpose as they started to dictate the tempo of the match and create more goal scoring opportunities.

Grantley Prescod, however, defended diligently and desperately, throwing themselves into the line of fire and making some very timely challenges.

One such sacrificial challenge and a bit of luck handed All Saints the lead in the 25th minute.

Tajani White was granted a bit of space at the top of the penalty area which encouraged a powerful right-footed effort that ricocheted off a challenging defender and into the bottom right corner.

All Saints’ place in the final was secured in the 32nd minute when Teshay Jones converted from the penalty spot after a Grantley Prescod defender handled the ball inside the area.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: