Tuesday 31 March, 2020

2019 Soca Monarch Finalists announced

The finalists in the 2019 Soca Monarch competition put on by the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) have been announced.

Just after 3am on Saturday morning, MC Jamar the Star Brown, accompanied by the NCF’s event coordinator Aja, announced the 14 making it through to the final round of the revamped event - a merger between the Party Monarch and Sweet Soca Competitions.

Those making it through to the final round to face off against last year's monarchs in both competitions - Lil Rick and Mikey, are Adrian Clarke, Betty B, Biggie Irie, Marvay, Faith, Jamal Slocombe, Jus D, Leadpipe, Marzville, Natahlee, Sanctuary, Skung Yung and TC. The reserve is Bo Bo.

The revamped Soca Monarch competition will be held on July 28 at the National Botanical Gardens in Waterford.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: