Tuesday 27 October, 2020

Barbados makes the UK Travel Corridor Exemption List as of July 4

Barbados passport (FILE)

Barbados passport (FILE)

As of July 10, Barbadians travelling from Barbados with no recent travel history to the United Kingdom can skip the 14-day mandatory self-quarantine protocol.

In an update issued by the Department of Transport yesterday (July 3) on the gov.uk site, it was stated:

"You do not have to self-isolate on arrival in England if these are the only places you have been to or stopped in during the previous 14 days."

And the good news for Bajans set to return to study or to return home in the UK is Barbados made the cut. This is as of today July 4 when this article was published.

Just as Prime Minister Mia Mottley speaks about the brake and accelerator as it relates to safety protocols and restrictions locally, the UK government stressed that the list can be updated constantly. "We will keep the conditions in these countries and territories under review. If they worsen we will not hesitate to reintroduce self-isolation requirements."


In an attempt to prevent the spread of COVID-19, the exemption rule states:

"From July 10, 2020, you will not have to self-isolate when you arrive in England, if you:

  • are travelling or returning from one of the countries with travel corridor exemption
  • have not been to or stopped in a country that’s not on the travel corridors exemption list in the previous 14 days

This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route."

If you stopped or visited other territories not on the list quarantine is necessary.

The full list of countries exempted are:

Andorra Germany New Zealand
Antigua and Barbuda Greece Norway
Aruba Greenland Poland
Australia Grenada Réunion
Austria Guadeloupe San Marino
Bahamas Hong Kong Serbia
Barbados Hungary Seychelles
Belgium Iceland South Korea
Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Italy Spain
Croatia Jamaica St Barthélemy
Curaçao Japan St Kitts and Nevis
Cyprus Liechtenstein St Lucia
Czech Republic Lithuania St Pierre and Miquelon
Denmark Luxembourg Switzerland
Dominica Macau Taiwan
Faroe Islands Malta Trinidad and Tobago
Fiji Mauritius Turkey
Finland Monaco Vatican City
France Netherlands Vietnam
French Polynesia New Caledonia  

Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are exempt as they are part of the common travel area.

The 14 British Overseas Territories are also exempt.

The United States of America did not make the Exemption List as of July 4.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: