Barbados tourism stalwarts recognised for their achievements

Top performers from the tourism industry praised for their contributions.

It was an afternoon of laughs and good cheer when the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) hosted their awards ceremony today.

Members from the top hotels and tourist attractions gathered at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre to recognise those who have performed excellently over the last season.

Tapas Restaurant walked away with the Restaurant of the Year award, overcoming an assault and robbery at their Hastings, Christ Church location in August 2015.

Small Hotel of the Year went to Sandpiper Hotel, while Ocean Two Resort copped Large Hotel of the Year.

In the category of Tourism Champion Awards, Hotel Employee of the Year went to Heather Hinds of The Club and David Mapp of Divisouth Winds was Supervisor of the Year.

The Tourism Stalwart Award went to Clifton Nicholas Parravicino and the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Bernice Crichlow-Earle who is the Director of the Barbados Community College Hospitality Institute.

Of note is the Special Commendation Award which went to four young men who were lauded as heroes for preventing a robbery of two British visitors on the Richard Haynes boardwalk back in January. They are Kevin Payne, Nico Hutson, Joseph Grazette and Jabari Worrell.

Chef of the Year went to Damian Leach who is also a member of the Barbados Culinary Team. He walked away with a handful of prizes including cash, staycation visits and an array of wines.  

Other categories which were recognised were Direct Tourism Services, Strategic Partner and Business Excellence.