Sunday 22 September, 2019

UPDATE: Longer wait for new Anglican Bishop

(Internet Image)

(Internet Image)

UPDATE: 7:43 am, April 26, 2018

After half a day of voting, the election process for a new Bishop of the Anglican Church ended in a stalemate last night. Voting kicked off around noon and by 11 pm last night no clear winner had emerged between Rev John Rogers and Dr. Jeffrey Gibson. 

Diocesan Administrator, Canon Wayne Isaacs today told Loop News:

"After four ballots the Elective Synod failed to elect a bishop. A new date will be set for another Synod."

The election process has been set to resume next Wednesday. The new bishop will replace the former bishop, Dr. John Holder, who retired from the post in February.

UPDATE: 7:55 pm, April 25, 2018.

And then they were two.

The second round of voting has begun as no one has secured the two-thirds majority in the two Houses as yet. However, the race is now between:

1) Rev. John Rogers, 45, rector of St George Parish Church 

2) Dr Jeffrey Gibson, 61, Dean of the St Michael's Cathedral.

According to sources Rev Rogers was leading in the House of Laity, while Dean Gibson was ahead in the House of Clergy. 

New Anglican Bishop to be elected today

[Original post: 10:29 am, April 25]

Five candidates are hoping to be elected Bishop when the Synod of the Diocese of Barbados meets today.  

The Synod begins with a celebration of the Holy Eucharist at 9 a.m. at the Christ Church Parish Church, which will be followed by the elective Synod at the Ivan Harewood Complex, Christ Church Parish Centre. 

The candidates, who will be replacing Dr. John Holder who retired earlier this year, are: Dr Jeffrey Gibson, 61, Dean of the St Michael's Cathedral; Rev. John Rogers, 45, rector of St George Parish Church; Canon Noel Burke, 60, rector of St David's Anglican Church; Rev. Dr Michael Clarke, 58, principal of Codrington College; and Rev. Dr Monrelle Williams, 64. 

In order to be elected as bishop, a candidate has to gain a two-thirds majority in both Houses – the House of Laity which consists of 84 people, and the House of Clergy comprising 91. 

The process for the election is found in Regulation C1:4ff as follows: 

• On the day appointed, the Holy Eucharist shall be celebrated and the Synod under the presidency of the Diocesan Administrator, or failing him the Archdeacon or failing him the Dean, shall proceed after the roll call to choose a bishop either by direct election or by delegating the choice to a selection committee. It shall be lawful for the Diocesan Administrator to request Synod to elect a president for the meeting. No stranger shall be present during the Electoral Meeting. 

The president shall have an original vote but not a casting vote. Any question which shall arise as to the interpretation of this regulation shall be determined by the president after consultation with the Chancellor or Registrar. The decision of the president shall be final and binding. 

• If the Synod decides to elect a bishop, the president shall call for nominations in writing. No person shall be eligible for nomination unless he be a bishop or a priest of not less than 30 years of age and of the Province of the West Indies, or of a church in communion with the Province. Any nomination must be signed by two members of the Synod, of whom one shall be a clerk in Holy Orders and must be supported by evidence in writing of the nominee's willingness to stand for election. 

• After debate, the Synod shall close nominations and two clergymen and two lay representatives shall be appointed by Synod to act together as scrutineers. Voting papers shall be prepared and the Synod shall vote by Houses. The ballot shall be secret and a two-thirds majority of each House present shall be necessary for election. 

(a) The voting papers shall be examined by the scrutineers and the result communicated to the president who shall announce the result openly. If any one person has obtained not less that two-thirds of the votes of each House present, he shall be thereupon declared elected. 

(b) If there is only nomination and the person nominated fails to receive the required majority, in each House, and if none of those nominated received the required majority, the president shall call for another ballot and the voting shall be repeated. It shall be allowable before any ballot after the first for a nomination to be withdrawn by the proposer and seconder. 

The name of the clergyman who received the lowest number of the aggregate votes of both Houses on the second ballot shall be withdrawn, unless such clergyman shall have received one-fifth of the votes cast in either House, and no votes shall be counted for him on any subsequent ballot and on each succeeding ballot. The name of the clergyman who has the lowest number of the aggregate votes of both Houses shall be similarly withdrawn if he has not receive one-fifth of the votes cast in either House, until finally one has received the required majority of the votes of each House. 

When the number eligible for election has been reduced to two or until none of the clergymen nominated is subject to elimination, as in the previous paragraph, provided then a final ballot shall be taken and if as a result such ballot, no clergyman receives the required number of votes, then Synod may decide. 

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: