Friday 4 December, 2020

PHOTOS: Outstanding Barbadians receive National Honours and Awards

The recipients of the 2017 National Honours and Awards.

The recipients of the 2017 National Honours and Awards.

Barbados officially has three new Knights. 

This after the 2017 National Honours and Awards were formally bestowed on their recipients today, during a presentation at Government House.

The island's newly appointed Governor General, Her Excellency Dame Sandra Mason, conferred the various distinctions on persons who were recognized for their exceptional contribution to the Barbadian society, as well as for acts of bravery.

Barbados' National Honours and Awards 2017

Among them were Barbados' newest Knights: The Honourable Sir Anthony Bryan, Sir Warwick Orlando Franklin, and Sir Charles Griffith.

Sir Anthony was recognised for "his outstanding contribution to publishing, broadcasting and business, including International Business in the area of publishing and broadcasting, presenting a positive, balanced credible view of Barbados"; Sir Warwick for "his contribution to the land surveying profession and to the land and property valuation profession"; and Sir Charles for "his contribution in the area of sport, with special reference to cricket, entrepreneurship, leadership and business development".

Sixteen persons received the Barbados Bravery Medal for 2017.

One such person was Dré Browne. The teen was recognised for springing into action during a trip to the beach and "saving the life of a visitor to Barbados, who required resuscitation following a near drowning experience". 

Dré Brown receives his award from Dame Sandra Mason.

Fifteen other young men were honoured for their heroism. They are Chad Boyce, Sharcarlo Boyce, Shakeem Boyce, Shamar Boyce, Shaquille Boyce, Kareem Brathwaite, Keshane Bynoe, Kyle Gibson, Jerome Giles, Terry Nurse, Mario Peters, Tio Peters, Traven Sandiford, Tio Warner and Lynden Watson. These individuals placed themselves in harm's way when they "assisted with extinguishing a fire at Jessamine Avenue, Bayville, St Michael on Tuesday, September 12, 2017".

The other distinctions bestowed include the Companion of Honour, the Crown of Merit and the Barbados Service Award.Click the following related article to view the full list.

Related Article

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: