Sunday 9 August, 2020

Sports stars honoured by Sports Council

West Indies female cricketer Hayley Matthews is the 2016 National Sports Council’s Sports Personality of the year.

At the awards ceremony held over the weekend at the Frank Collymore Hall, Matthews performance with the bat at the ICC World Cup was one of the highlights that gave her the edge over a tough field.

Also winner of the Junior Outstanding Sportsperson – female, Matthews had a field which included Meagan Best in squash, Sada Williams for her impressive performance on the track before her injury which sidelined her just before the Olympic Games in Rio.

However Best carried off the Ministers Award as well as an Emerging Athlete Award for her outstanding performances in her age category as well as outside.

World indoor sprint bronze medalist and Olympian, Ramon Gittens, won the Senior Outstanding Person Male, while Akela Jones who competed in the multi-events for her University as well as at the Olympics won the female title.

For leading the West Indies women’s team to victory, their coach Vasbert Drakes carried off the Coach of the Year award.

National Sports Council 2016 Honour  Roll  
National Sports Personality: Hayley Matthews
Minister's Award: Meagan Best
Senior Outstanding Sportsperson – Female: Winner - Akela Jones (Track and field) Nominees – Antoinette Downie (women’s physique), Roberta Foster (equestrian), Tamesha Lewis (Body Fitness) 
Senior Outstanding Sportsperson – Male: Winner - Ramon Gittens (Track) Nominees – Kraigg Brathwaite (cricket), Darian King (Tennis), Rico Walcott (jockey). 
Junior Outstanding Sportsperson – Female: Winner - Hayley Matthews Nominees – Amber Joseph (cycling), Meagan Best (Squash), Danielle Titus (Swimming), Sada Williams (Track)
Junior Outstanding Sportsperson – Male: Winner - Mario Burke Nominees – Jonathan Jones (track), Shackeem Mascoll (boxing), Alex Sobers (swimming), Shamar Springer (cricket).
Indigenous Sports Award: Ezekiel Ward, Kim Holder, Julian White, City of Bridgetown Cooperative Credit Union (Sponsor), World Road Tennis Federation (Organiser)
Coach of the Year: Winner - Vasbert Drakes (women’s Cricket) Runners up – Ramon Armstrong (Track and field), Margaret Cutting (netball), Renaldo Maughn (Basketball)
Community Awards: Nadata Kisson-Ifill, Evans Maughan
Groundsman of the Year: Errol Holder
School's Award: Bayley's Primary School, Christ Church Foundation
Youth Awards: McCallum Clarke, Zane Maloney
Wesley Worrell Award: Glyne Greaves, Marlon Knight
Special Awards: Roxanne Forte, Christopher McCollin, Charlene Leacock, Michael Lopez, Alston Williams, Vernon Williams, The National Sports Council Women's Football Team
Family Award: The Proverbs Family – Stanton Proverbs, Ahmed Proverbs, Captain Cedric Proverbs
Seniors Award: Nicholas King, Michael Maskell, Deighton ‘Pa’ Roach
Lifetime Achievement Award: Sir Everton Weekes
Sports Tourism Award: Island Races (Directors Run Barbados) 
Sponsors Award: ADC Building & Maintenance Ltd., Insurance Corporation of Barbados Ltd. (ICBL), Massy United Insurance, Nicholls Plumbing Service (2000) Inc., Restaurant Associates Barbados Ltd. (Burger King)
Federation Award: Barbados Boxing Association
Club Award: Winner - University of the West Indies Sports Club. Runners up – Pinelands Sports Club and Station Hill Sports and Cultural Club
Team Award: Winner - Barbados Karate Team. Runners Up – Barbados Hockey Team, Barbados Under-21 Netball Team, Barbados Squash Team. 
Media Award: Winner - Mark Seale (CBC)
Runners up – Corey Greaves (Barbados Advocate), Mellissa Farley (CBC), Justin MArville (Nation) 
Alvin Burgess Award – Sports Administrator: Winner - Amanda Reifer (UWI) Runners Up – Paul Bernstein (Karate), Monty Cumberbatch (Squash), Allan Herbert (Chess), 
Performance of the Year: Carlos Brathwaite
Emerging Athlete Award: Meagan Best – Squash, Amber Joseph – Cycling, Shamar Springer – Cricket


Hayley Matthews the toast of the town 

Ramon Gittens clocks personal best at World Championships


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: