Wednesday 23 September, 2020

West Indies dominate ESPNCricinfo’s T20 team of the decade

Five West Indies players have been named in ESPNCricinfo’s Twenty20 team of the decade.

The criteria, set by the 23-member panel, for selection was a minimum of 50 Tests or six active years in the traditional format while it was 75 ODIs and 100 T20s for the limited-over teams.

There were no West Indians in the two longer formats of the game. However, the T20 team is dominated by the West Indies players.

The five West Indies players selected are  Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell.

Former India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was picked as captain of the ODI and Twenty20 teams of the decade, while Virat Kohli was named the leader in Tests.

Men’s T20 team of the decade
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), AB de Villiers, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Rashid Khan, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Virat Kohli, Andre Russell and Jaspreet Bumrah.

Men’s ODI team of the decade
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), AB de Villiers, Trent Bolt, Hashim Amla, Ross Taylor, Mitchell Starc, Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, Virat Kohli, Shakib Al Hasan, Imran Tahir.

Men’s Test team of the decade
Virat Kohli (captain), Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, AB de Villiers (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, James Anderson, Dale Steyn, and Rangana Herath.



Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: