Tuesday 11 August, 2020

Windies replace injured Russell with Ambris

West Indies batsman Sunil Ambris.

West Indies batsman Sunil Ambris.

Sunil Ambris has been cleared to replace the injured Jamaican Andre Russell in West Indies' Cricket World Cup squad.

All-rounder Russell was ruled out of the rest of the tournament due to a knee injury.

Opening batsman Ambris was selected as the man to take Russell's place and the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday sanctioned the replacement.

Ambris of St Vincent and the Grenadines has played only six One-Day Internationals (ODI) but scored 148 against Ireland last month and also made an unbeaten half-century against Bangladesh. 

The 26-year-old right-hander will be hoping to get the nod to partner Chris Gayle at the top of the order when the Windies face India in a must-win contest at Old Trafford on Thursday. 

The West Indies are presently in Manchester preparing for the game against India

First ball is 10:30 am (5:30 am Eastern Caribbean Time/4:30 am Jamaica Time). The other two matches remaining in the first round are against Sri Lanka in Durham on Monday, July 1 and against Afghanistan at Headingley, on Thursday, July 4.

West Indies are struggling in eighth-place in the 10-team table with three points, the same as ninth-place South Africa.

New Zealand are leading the table with 11 points from six matches, one ahead of second-place Australia on 10 points from six matches. India hold down third place with nine points from five matches.

England (eight points from six matches) and Bangladesh (seven points from seven matches) complete the top five.

FULL WEST INDIES SQUAD (with shirt numbers)

Jason Holder (Captain) – 8
Chris Gayle (Vice Captain) – 45
Fabian Allen – 97
Sunil Ambris – 99
Carlos Brathwaite – 26
Darren Bravo – 46
Sheldon Cottrell – 19
Shannon Gabriel – 85
Shimron Hetmyer – 2
Shai Hope – 4
Evin Lewis – 17
Ashley Nurse – 5
Nicholas Pooran – 29
Kemar Roach – 24
Oshane Thomas – 42


1. Friday, May 31: vs Pakistan at Trent Bridge, Nottingham (West Indies won by 7 wickets)
2. Thursday, June 6: vs Australia at Trent Bridge, Nottingham (Australia won by 15 runs)
3. Monday, June 10: vs South Africa at Hampshire Bowl, Southampton (No result due to rain)
4. Friday, June 14: vs England at Hampshire Bowl, Southampton (England won by 8 wickets)
5. Monday, June 17: vs Bangladesh at the County Ground, Taunton (Bangladesh won by 7 wickets)
6. Saturday, June 22: vs New Zealand at Old Trafford, Manchester (New Zealand won by 5 runs)

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: